jump to navigation

Poem by JD DeHart – Rummy October 28, 2016

Posted by vscorpiozine in JD DeHart, poems, poetry, Veteran Poets.
Tags: , , ,
trackback
Rummy
 
I stopped playing rummy
years ago because I kept
losing.
I stop playing everything
I can’t win.
That’s not tenacity, I know.
I’m not competitive until I
realize I am.
That’s why learning to love
is difficult.
It’s taking yourself out of the
game, realizing that winning
is not all there is.
Seeing more than the flash
of cards and the promise
of a payoff,
just enjoying being at the table
and talking through
the deck.

 

BIO: JD DeHart is a writer and teacher.  His chapbook, The Truth About Snails, is available from RedDashboard and on Amazon.
Comments»

1. bzniditch - October 28, 2016

JD DeHart has a conversational voice in his own reality at the moments
of his gambling payoffs in his buoyancy of reflexive winning and loss
of his premise, promise and an articulate gestural playing with us in his poem.


Leave a Reply

