jump to navigation

Poems by JD DeHart – Being Careful and A Study May 14, 2016

Posted by vscorpiozine in JD DeHart, poems, poetry, Veteran Poets.
Tags: , , ,
trackback
Being Careful
 
I was told not to run
in fresh cut grass, not to
drive too fast,
not to get too close,
but not stay too far away.
Most things in life,
you’re safe if you stick
to the middle.  Religion.
Politics.
Not driving.  That’s where
the other driver is.
I’m careful to weigh
my words, shaking each
one to rattle the contents,
then forget the sentence
when I start.

A Study
 
I’ve decided to conduct
a study on just what
works.
So far, I’ve come up with
little.  I did not even
intend to begin this little
study.  It just started
mainly out of boredom.
I’ve made a study
of the way children
pretend.  Adults do too.
We never stop pretending.
The play just gets more
complex over time.

BIO:

JD DeHart is a writer and teacher.  His chapbook, The Truth About Snails, is available from RedDashboard.  You can visit one of his many blogs, http://rustedroselit.blogspot.com/, and submit your own writing there.
Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

